Subject Guides

General

open all +


Economics

Argmax.com
has economics news, directory of economists, links to economics Web sites, sites with economic data. Maintained by John S. Irons. has economics news, directory of economists, links to economics Web sites, sites with economic data. Maintained by John S. Irons.

AmosWeb Economic Gloss*arama
is a searchable glossary of economic terms.

BRIE
(Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy) is an interdisciplinary research project that focuses on international economic competition, development and application of advanced technologies’. Their web site has BRIE working papers (selected papers have the full text attached) and research papers.

IDEAS
(Internet Documents in Economics Access Service) allows searching for many working papers from WoPEc, BibEc, EconWPA and other archives.

NU/WIDER
World Institute for Development Economics Research is the first research and training centre established by the United Nations University. The Web site has details of their activities, including their publications. Some research papers and working papers are available in PDF.

Virtual library on International Development
has lots of links to resources in broad areas related to international economics. Maintained by Canadian International Development Agency.

WoPEc
(Electronic Working Papers in Economics) collates working papers from many sources and which can be queried together. WoPEc is part of NetEc ‘which is a volunteer effort to improve the communication of research in Economics via electronic media’


Engineering

open all +

CE News Online

iCivilEngineering
The Internet for Civil Engineers.

Basic Electronic Circuit Analysis
A site where Electrical Engineering & Technology students can Analyze electronic circuits online. The result in a detailed step-by-step format can be obtained in less than 1 second.

Virtual Mechanisms
Java animations of classical categories of mechanisms such as straight line generators and four bar linkages.


Law

Lawyermen.com.my
The Malaysia Online Legal Resources-Lawyerment is the premier and leading Malaysian Web portal focused on law and government. It provides access to an extensive and fast-growing online library of free legal resources for use by legal professionals, students, consumers and businesses.


Mathematics

open all +

Encyclopedia of Combinatorial Structures
This encyclopedia of combinatorial structures has been written by Stéphanie Petit. It ambitions to be seen as a young cousin of Sloane’s Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences with an emphasis on sequences that arise in the context of decomposable combinatorial structures.

Mathsoft

MathWorld
The Web’s most extensive mathematics resource.

Matlab
is a tool for doing numerical computations with matrices and vectors.

On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
This web site to get information about a particular number sequence. By AT & T

The Prime Pages : prime, numbers, research and records
This site indexes all resources on prime numbers, including its history, the largest prime numbers.

Web Pages that Perform Statistical Calculations!
There are over 300 links to web pages comprising of powerful, conveniently-accessible, and FREE multi-platform statistical software package for generation of random numbers, Chi-square analysis, regression analysis, etc.

WWW Virtual Library : Mathematics


Science

open all +

The Cell & Molecular Biology Online
community with an emphasis on information for cell and molecular biologists. This web site is maintained by Pamela Gannon.

Protocol Online (POL)
This site links to protocols, methods and tips on cell biology, molecular biology and immunology from by research laboratories worldwide and commercial sites which host very useful and general technical information. This site is created, designed and maintained by Dr Longcheng Li.

MIT Biology HyperTextbook
This is an introductory molecular biology hypertext book. It includes chapters on chemistry, large molecules, cell biology, enzyme biochemistry, photosynthesis, genetics, DNA, and immunology and has practice problems at the end of each chapter.

BioHunt
A molecular biology information search engine.

Chemical glossary
A glossary of chemistry terms listed alphabetically. It is also searchable.

The Representation of Molecular Models
is a site to view the molecular graphics in 3D with its common attributes. Searching is by category or formula. You will need a VRML 2.0 Player plug-in to view the 3-D images, links to the plug-in are provided.

A visual interpretation of the table of elements
A visual tour through the periodic table with description and history (including the origin of its name) for each of the 109 elements. These pages is heavy with images and take a while to load.

The Pictorial Periodic Table
The elements on most tables are clickable which lead to information on each element. A list of isotopes are also given for some elements. It also has links to history of the periodical table, other periodic table and related sites. By Chris Heilman.

WebElements
for the periodic table on the Web. A very thorough site. Mark Winter, The University of Sheffield and WebElements Ltd, UK.

CAS Standard Abbreviations & Acronyms
is a list of automatically generated abbreviations and acronyms in CAS publications and services.

RasMol V2.5 : molecular visualisation program
is a molecular graphics program for the visualisation of proteins, nucleic acids and small molecules. It is maintained by Glaxo Research and Development.

Molecular and protein modeling
Cornell Theory Center release four computer programs for molecular and protein modeling. It includes write ups about the program and usage instructions. Programs are free for downloading.

Molecules of the Month
Highlighting & exploring chemistry using the World Wide Web browsers and interactive 3D chemistry viewers – over 1000 3D models to view and manipulate. It features a new molecule every month discussing its the structure and chemistry. This site extensively uses two types of multimedia plug-ins for world wide web browsers.

VMD : visual molecular dynamics
This is a molecular visualization program for displaying and animating large biomolecular systems using 3-D graphics. VMD supports computers running Unix or Windows, is distributed free of charge, and includes source code. By the Theoretical Biophysics group.

International Chemical Safety Cards
This site is a source of general information about the chemicals presented in 12 different languages including Chinese and Japanese. Chemical are listed based on chemical names, CAS numbers, EC index numbers, etc.

Global instructional chemistry
contains illustrations of hyperactive molecules which you will be able to rotate, measure and play. It is maintained by Dr Henry Rzepa.

High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC): A Users Guide
It is an online manual cover the history, application, theory of operation, technical assistance and manufacturers of HPLC. It also includes a quiz at the end of the guide.

Organometallic HyperTextBook
An introductory reference for students covering all aspects of Organometallic Chemistry. It has extensive hypertext links to concepts and terms as well as citations to references made.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Contains themochemical data for organic and small inorganic compounds, reacion thermochemistry data, IR spectra, mass spectra, electronic/vibrational spectra, constants of diatomic molecules, ion energetics data, and themophysical property data. Structures are given for most species, as well as common and commercial names.

ChemFinder
A searchable database of chemical substances gives the molecular weight, chemical structure, density, boiling & melting point, CAS registry number. It includes links to other sites on its usage, physical properties, MSDS details, regulations and hazadous data. A very good site.

LiqCryst Online
offers free access to its demo-set database of structures and the LC Registration numbers of more than 70000 compounds. Searching is by structures drawing, compound names, registry number, etc. The molecular mass, line notation and structure of the all compounds are displayed even when they are not in the demo-set. Registration is free.

WWW Virtual Library : Chemistry

Galaxy: Chemistry

Physical reference data

Favourite Mathematical Constants

Periodic Table of Elements

Eric’s Treasure Troves of Physics
An extensive on-line encyclopedias and dictionary of physics compiled by Eric W. Weisstein. This dictionary is searchable with hypertext links to explanations of terminology used in the descriptions, includes references as well.

Physical Reference Data
It includes physical constants, and other data on spectroscopy, ionizing radiation and dosimetry, nuclear and condensed matter physics, and more.

Favorite Mathematical Constants
Very nice and useful list of mathematical constants with supporting essays and references. Maintained by Steven Finch, Research and Development Team, MathSoft, Inc.

Conversion Factors
The following list provides the conversion relationship between U.S. customary units (e.g. inch and miles) and SI (International System) units. By the Washington State Department of Transportation.

Atomic Spectroscopic Database (from NIST)
This database provides access and search capability for critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities that are reasonably up-to-date. The Atomic Energy Levels Data Center and Data Center on Atomic Transition Probabilities and Line Shapes have carried out these critical compilations.

Periodic Table of Elements – X-ray properties
A clickable table of elements. This table provides various x-ray properties for each element and it has also a script for calculating x-ray cross sections for a give energy.

Share this